What does MRCOG stand for?

Membership of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists.

What does the MRCOG exam involve?

The Membership examination is intended for those who wish to specialise in obstetrics and gynaecology, and is a two part examination:

Part 1 MRCOG is a written examination in the basic and clinical sciences relevant to obstetrics and gynaecology. It can be taken at any time after medical graduation, although it is a requirement for specialty trainees who are progressing from ST2 to ST3.

Part 2 MRCOG can be sat once the Part 1 examination has been successfully completed. It is a requirement for specialty trainees in order to progress from ST5 to ST6, and it is necessary for prospective candidates to have their training assessed prior to entry into the examination.

How can I register to take the MRCOG exams?

Everything you need to know about the College’s examinations is provided in the sections for the Part 1 MRCOG, and the Part 2 MRCOG. Click on the relevant examination in menu on the left to access information on the Application process, the Content of the examinations and candidates’ Results.

You must then contact the British Council and we will administer the exam.

When are the exams and how much do they cost?

For examination dates and fees, please visit the RCOG website.

See also